Skip to content

A major change is coming to PlayStation Now. Sony has announced today that their PlayStation Now service will merge with PlayStation Plus to form a new subscription model. It will look alot like Xbox’s subscription service, with three tiers. The highest tier will offer cloud gaming and an extensive catalogue of games, called PlayStation Plus Premium. The catalogue will be refreshed as well, offering more than 700 games. The service is set to launch June 1st.

Currently PlayStation Now offers 844 games. It seems likely the catalogue will be losing some games. Which isn’t a bad thing. The catalogue is due for a big refresh, with most games being years old compared to Xbox’s newer catalogue. Sony has announced that PlayStation Plus Premium will offer the following:

  • Provides the same benefits that PlayStation Plus members are getting today, such as:Two monthly downloadable games
  • Exclusive discounts
  • Cloud storage for saved games
  • Online multiplayer access
  • Adds a catalog of up to 400* of the most enjoyable PS4 and PS5 games – including blockbuster hits from our PlayStation Studios catalog and third-party partners. Games in the Extra tier are downloadable for play.
  • Adds up to 340* additional games, including:
    • PS3 games available via cloud streaming
    • A catalog of beloved classic games available in both streaming and download options from the original PlayStation, PS2 and PSP generations 
  • Offers cloud streaming access for original PlayStation, PS2, PSP and PS4 games offered in the Extra and Premium tiers in markets** where PlayStation Now is currently available. Customers can stream games using PS4 and PS5 consoles, and PC.*** 
  • Time-limited game trials will also be offered in this tier, so customers can try select games before they buy.


Pricing is going up for the cloud gaming service, however it will be comparable with Xbox Gamepass Ultimate. The prices will be:

  • United States
    • $17.99 monthly / $49.99 quarterly / $119.99 yearly
  • Europe
    • €16.99 monthly / €49.99 quarterly / €119.99 yearly
  • United Kingdom
    • £13.49 monthly / £39.99 quarterly / £99.99 yearly 
  • Japan
    • ¥1,550 – monthly / ¥4,300 – quarterly / ¥10,250 yearly

A few new games for the service have been announced, such as Death Stranding, God of War, Marvel’s Spider-Man, Marvel’s Spider-Man: Miles Morales, Mortal Kombat 11, and Returnal. The Cloud Gaming Catalogue will be updated with the new games as soon as possible!